DSS Divisions

The Department of Social Services (DSS) is organized into functional divisions (as prescribed in Federal and State statutes), which are responsible for specific assistance programs. These include:

  • Temporary Assistance
    • Family Assistance
    • Safety Net
    • Home Energy Assistance Program (HEAP)
    • Employment Services
  • Medical Assistance
    • Medicaid
    • Family Health Plus
    • Family Planning Benefit Program
    • Managed Care
    • Long Term Care
    • Nursing Home Care Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
  • Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

New York State Office of Temporary & Disability Assistance has created a web based tool to assist individuals in determining what benefits their household may qualify for. Applications for SNAP benefits are also available at this link. www.mybenefits.ny.gov

  • Title XX Services
    • Child Protective
    • Adult Protective
    • Adoption
    • Foster Home Placement
    • Preventive Services
  • Child Support Enforcement Unit - Customer Service Helpline - 1-888-208-4485
  • Fraud & Legal Affairs Unit
  • Building Independence for the Long Term (BILT)
    • Mental Health
    • Alcohol & Substance Abuse
    • Case Management
    • Domestic Violence
    • Disability Advocacy
    • Homeless & Housing Services
Reply email: