Agricultural and Farmland Protection Board

Agriculture and Farmland Protection Board, established by the Steuben County Legislature, includes five active farmers, one agribusiness person, and ex officio members, as required by New York State Agriculture and Markets Law. The board advises the Legislature regarding Agricultural District Reviews and leads the effort to implement the Steuben County Agricultural Development and Expansion Plan that was approved in 2015. The board also reviews Notices of Intent for the reasonableness of proposed actions in Agricultural Districts that involve government funds or acquisition of land by a government. The board may also ask the New York State Commissioner of Agriculture and Markets to review state agency rules and regulations that affect farming in Agricultural Districts. Steuben County has a right to farm law and the Agriculture and Farmland Protection Board is sometimes called upon to mediate disagreements between farmers and their neighbors as outlined in the law.


January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2018
Shawn Gilson, 3699 State Route 21, Wayland, NY 14572
Tom Massi, 246 Victory Highway, Painted Post, NY 14870

January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2019
Charles Painter, 295 Murray Road, Addison, NY 14801
Mike Slayton, 7195 County Route 27, Hornell, NY 14843

January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2021
Ken Ward, MJ Ward & Sons, PO Box 747, Bath, NY 14810
Matthew Doyle, Doyle Vineyards Management, PO Box 476, Hammondsport, NY 14840

Ex-Officio Members (Voting)
Robert V. Nichols, Steuben County Legislator, District 11
Chairperson, Soil & Water Conservation District Board of Directors, or Designee
Director, Cornell Cooperative Extension, or Designee
Steuben County Planning Director, or Designee
Steuben County Real Property Tax Service Agency, or Designee

Advisory Members (Non-Voting)
James C. Johnson, Executive Director, Steuben County Industrial Development Agency

Reply email: